Terminate your cluster
This recording presents the essence of this page. It's recommended to read it in full for the motivation and all details.
You can terminate your cluster using the CLI. For this, you need the Terraform state directory named
constellation-terraform in the current directory.
All ephemeral storage and state of your cluster will be lost. Make sure any data is safely stored in persistent storage. Constellation can recreate your cluster and the associated encryption keys, but won't backup your application data automatically.
Or without confirmation (e.g., for automation purposes):
constellation terminate --yes
This deletes all resources created by Constellation in your cloud environment.
All local files created by the
apply commands are deleted as well, except for
constellation-mastersecret.json and the configuration file.
Termination can fail if additional resources have been created that depend on the ones managed by Constellation. In this case, you need to delete these additional
resources manually. Just run the
terminate command again afterward to continue the termination process of the cluster.
Delete all files that are no longer needed:
rm constellation-state.yaml constellation-admin.conf
constellation-mastersecret.json and the configuration file remain.